Cafe Evergreen, Kasol, Himachal Pradesh

A few months ago I was travelling to Lucknow with two of friends – Michael and Malik

1925276_1382979031972271_680815045_n Michael Willia Haaf

 

We braved the sleeper class of the Indian Railways and reached Lucknow early in the morning. The good thing about small places in India untouched by too much modernisation is the air, it is so clean and pure and fresh. It is a welcome break from the concentrated sacrilegious air that we breathe in Delhi.

I remember it was March and it was still cold, but Lucknow being Lucknow was hot –

Lucknow_station

At the station the rickshaw drivers were all ready to exploit us because I was with two white men. After all the bargaining was done and after 3 hours of hotel hunting we ended up in a very rural hotel. And when I say rural, I mean rural.

The original plan was to go to Varanasi –

varanasi

and then Bodhgaya, Bihar –

mahabodhi-temple-bodh-gaya-bihar-india

and then finally land in Kolkata, West Bengal –

kolkata-rain

But oh the heat and the mismanaged trip! I booked my bus tickets for the night and I was back to the safe environs of my urban city –

delhi-rain

 

The trip back was eventful. We stopped by a lake and it was mahashivratri. The knowledgeable  readers would know what we did in a boat under the open sky. Oh my , it was beautiful. And in that dazed state of awareness, where everything was a slow blur I headed to the bus station and in the same state of daze I reached Delhi in the morning to have coffee at my favourite cafe –

qahwa (1)

Yes, I am indeed modernization’s urban child, no standards barred.

But this is the story of Evergreen Cafe, Kasol, the calmest place one can ever be at.

So after having my coffee, I decided it was time to move a level up in the experimental department, it was indeed time to head to the hills. A few more clicks on the net and  I had a ticket to Chandigarh and by 12 I was off to yet another city with clean air.

Chandigarh was beautiful and when it is said that this is a planned city of India probably the only planned city of the country, they are not wrong. Such planning and that too with such clean air. I was in love, again.

chandigarh

From Chandigarh a bus was taken to Buntar and by next morning we were in Kasol. It was raining, it was so far away from civilization, it was simply breath taking. All the voices in my head had gone.

By ten we were at Evergreen Cafe –

evergreen-cafe-kasol

 

If you have been to Kasol the baba would have served you –

kasol-evergreen-food

If you still have not been there well … I do not believe in destiny, but I do hope yours takes you there.

 

Leave a Reply

